jonathan-pease-83068 (1).jpg

Every single day of our lives we are longing for that thing or person that can fill or even make us complete. It will show up on how we spend our imaginations, actions, time, feelings, and money.

And as we have this pursuit, it is important for us to know the difference between attainment and fulfilment. Because you can attain all the things that your flesh desires and all things that the world is offering, but it will not guarantee that having them can truly fulfill and satisfy you.

Ravi Zacharias once said, “The loneliest moment in life is when you have just experienced that which you thought would deliver the ultimate & it has just let you down”.

Now, if you will have the time to look into the life of Jesus, you will learn that He never experience emptiness and He is always full, why? Yes because He is God, but don’t ever forget that He also said that He has food to eat, and that is to do the will of His Father. (Read John 4:34)

Meaning, only when you do the will of God that you can find real fulfillment. Only when you know that you are in the center of His will for you and only when you rest your soul and life in God alone that you can experience the inner and lasting fulfillment that your heart longs for.

Ravi Zacharias again nailed it, “If I am to be fulfilled, I must pursue a will that is greater than mine – a fulfilled life is one that has the will of God as its focus, not the appetite of the flesh.”

And may we remember this, the Bible also says, “For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul?” (Mark 8:36). The world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever” (1 John‬ ‭2:17‬ ‭).

Re-assess your heart and values.

If you are a kind of person who thinks that you already attained the things you desire, ask yourself, are these things from God? Can they really satisfy and fulfill me?

If you are a person who is striving so much to get the things of the world, ask yourself, are the things I am chasing are from God? How sure I am that when I get them, they can truly satisfy and fulfill me?

Where are you? Are you walking and growing in His will?

I myself has things that God has given and I can be really grateful for them. But deep within my heart, I know that I need to ask these questions as well. Because, the things I have and want to have should not replace God in my life.

May God help us, until His will and He himself will become a reality in our lives, and until we realize that at the end of the day, He alone can truly satisfy and fulfill us.

Resources: The problem of pleasure, Recapture the wonder by Ravi Zacharias

